Film Review: Thor

*Contains mild spoilers*

After a long time of people telling to watch Thor, I’ve come around to watching it (Don’t ask me how, I just did.) and I have to say it’s pretty awesome. It’s not as good as the time Iron Man films (which are at the top of my list of my favourite Marvel films) but it’s pretty awesome. I do have to admit I did have some doubts about this film, after the failure of X-Men: First Class, but this film has completely taken away all of my doubts – though I do still have some disappointments about this film. The movie is kind of cheesy at points, but ads to the whole aura of Thor. After I watched this movie I was like, “Wow. This is such a good movie!”

The overall plot of the movie is pretty much in canon with the comics – God know’s what would’ve happened if Matthew Vaughn hadn’t left the project?! The special effects were brilliant, and had me on the edge of my seat! The costumes were a little off, I mean no rams horn helmet for Thor? The plot was the thing that did it for me, I mean it’s all well-and-good to have fancy special effects, but if you don’t have a good plot it takes away all the beauty from the film. Luckily, this film had both fancy special effects and a good plot. This movie had a set main villain and a main hero, that’s also what made it good and the director knew what the main storyline was going to be, so people who knew nothing about the comics would understand the what’s going on. There were definitely some disappointments in the movie, for example: Natalie Portman’s character Jane Foster knowing who Thor was when he explained himself left no suspense between their relationship in the film, at points the costumes in the movie were just so distracting…and off, Chris Hemsworth’s accent was verging on the line of English/Norse, like he couldn’t make his mind up. Time to analyse the characters;

Anthony Hopkins as Odin: There’s a reason why this character is first on my list, Anthony Hopkins as Odin totally made this movie for me! I know he wasn’t really a primary character, and was in Odin sleep for the majority of the film but the moment he put a spell on Thor’s hammer, Mjolnir, sent chills down my spine. He put so much emotion in his character, for me he was the main hero.

Tom Hiddleston as Loki: Hiddleston is the perfect Loki, for me. He portrayed the character as someone who is trying to prove himself to his Father, and whose also struggling with the fact that he’s actually a Frost Giant – someone who is considered as a monster. I liked that the character wasn’t just portrayed as a hard-core villain, don’t get me wrong he’s evil, but I found myself sympathising with him and his situation. Plus he portrayed one of my favourite villains perfectly :).

Chris Hemsworth as Thor: Hemsworth did a good job as Thor. He brought across the arrogance and sometimes even stupidity of Thor, and he made humorous. The only thing that was slightly off-key was Thor’s speech, he didn’t speak in enough old English for me and what the heck was going on with his accent? The accent was verging on Norse to English and sometimes even Australian, yeah I get that Hemsworth’s Australian, but they should’ve at least gotten him an accent coach.

Jaimie Alexander as Sif: Alexander did a great job as Sif, she portrayed her anger and violent rage extremely well, and she managed to show Sif’s undying devotion and affection to Thor. My favourite scene with Sif, is when she almost attack Loki and Volstagg and Fandral have to hold her back. I hope in the next movies, she comes across as a love interest of Thor.

Natalie Portman as Jane Foster: This character was a big disappointment for me, she wasn’t the Jane Foster that I came to know and dislike. I get that they wanted Jane to come across as smart and headstrong, to appeal to young girls, but she just wasn’t Jane. Jane isn’t meant to know Thor’s identity from the beginning and is torn between Dr Donald Blake (Thors pseudonym) and Thor, until she finally found out who Thor really was. Natalie Portman is a great actress, but her character was a failure in my opinion.

Idris Elba as Heimdall: Elba did a great job playing the all-seeing-all-hearing Asgardian, Heimdall. All that crap about Elba being black so he can’t play a Norse god, is just well a load of crap.

The other characters in the film the Warriors Three, SHIELD agents, Darcy and Erik, did excellent supporting roles. Clark Gregg reprised his role as Phil Coulson played the agent just right.

Overall director Kenneth Branagh did an excellent job with the making of this movie and I highly recommend you to watch it. As always leave your comments below.

-X1

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Actors, Film Reviews, Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thor hit on some fronts with me and fell short on others. I didn’t hate the movie, but it isn’t at the top of my list of Marvel films either. I actually liked First Class more, despite it’s departures from cannon, I’ve just grown use to this from the X-Men movie franchise I guess.

    Back to Thor. I didn’t appreciate the reasoning that “Magic” was just really advanced technology. I know the quote from Arthur C Clark and I know what they were going for. I just didn’t think it was necessary, we’re going to a movie about a super hero named Thor, I think the audience is generally willing to suspend their disbelief about magic. I think this was more of a tactic to avoid drawing fire from more religious viewers or groups. Just like how the original D&D movie (so horrible) did away with the entire idea of Clerics just to avoid offending Christians.

    I also didn’t really appreciate the whole, Thor stumbling through his humanity phase of the movie. It felt like something out of the 80’s or an old sitcom. I would have rather seen Odin put him into a mortal, Donald Blake body, or found some other way around this. Over all, it’s a really hard origin story to tell, and a really difficult secret identity to sell to the non-comic book reading audience. I get that. I just felt like it fell a little flat.

    That being said, I can’t wait for Avengers, I think I’ll enjoy Thor a lot more when he’s not the central focus of the movie.

    • I agree with some of your points; I would have loved to see Odin put Thor into his mortal form Donald Blake and Jane Foster being an actual nurse! They should’ve really explained the concept of magic more in this movie, it’s so strong in the comics and it plays a big part in Asgard and the Marvel Universe, but none of that came across in the film, it was just like really advance technology.

      Odin seemed to be the only character in the whole movie to actually use the concept of magic, i.e, the curse on Thor’s hammer. I really think that people shouldn’t mind if magic is used in a movie, I mean I’m not a Christian, but I’m part of a religion and totally don’t mind if magic is used in movies. It’s not going to affect me because I know it’s fiction.

      But overall I have to say I really loved the movie and in my opinion it was so much better than any of the X-Men movies. I’m a HUGE X-Men fan, so all of the films really just murdered my dreams.

      I also can’t wait till The Avengers comes out. Hopefully Thor won’t have to much of a part to play – he is quite annoying.

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon! cheap vps | cpanel vps |

  3. I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

Leave a Reply

